Liverpool Baquetas: Eco Jatoba

10513979_737933262912780_780173765_n

Hailing from Brazil, the country that hosted the most recent world cup, Liverpool drumsticks are making their way into the United States and they are a prime contender to become a behemoth company here like so many of the more familiar brands around.

Jatoba is a hardwood that is very dense and comparable to white oak in its hardness and durability. This is important to note, because my favorite stick type for a long time was the Japan Oak 5a wood tip that Promark used to make. They probably still make them that way, but since the company was acquired by D’Addario they started doing some innovative stuff with their Select Balance tech and subsequently made a select balance version of the Japan Oak that I liked so I started playing with those instead.

Reformed wood sticks are ok depending on who you get them from, and often you can get more of them for cheaper than you could get solid wood sticks. Of course, this opens a can of worms for those of us on a budget but it doesn’t necessarily have to break the bank.

What a budget might limit on quantity, doesn’t effect its potential quality. What I mean by that is to say that most companies offer reformed and solid wood stick types, at variable prices depending on where you get them but those in the know can save some money by researching what works best for them. Personally, I can’t stand most reformed wood sticks because of their lack of durability. That is not to say that all reformed wood sticks are terrible, just that they don’t really work for me because I’m prone to heavy handed smash sessions that reformed wood just can’t stand up to. That said, it works better for me to buy stick types with increased durability because I not only play hard, I play a lot and not having reputation/endorsement deals makes it challenging to keep up with restocking my stick bag.

Fortunately, Jatoba hardwood is not only durable, but it feels good in the hands. Its natural density adds weight, which allows for more energy transfer from hand to stick to drum. Why is that good? Well, for certain applications it wouldn’t be but that isn’t really the point. For me, the available energy transfer translates to more solid notes, which makes for more defined sounds and that is one of the most important characteristics of how I approach the kit.

3 thoughts on “Liverpool Baquetas: Eco Jatoba

  1. I’m a super heavy handed drummer, I’d like to try these sticks out for sure. Wonder if they are coming to canada. I’ve been playing with the Steve gadd Vic firth sticks for over 8 years now, I’m not to sure if I’m easily swayable though

    Liked by 1 person

    • In the mean time, you could always check out the promark sticks I was talking about. Also a nice solid pair of sticks in my opinion. This isnt even the coolest pair Liverpool makes, I just haven’t gotten around to writing the other reviews yet. Thanks for reading!

      Like

What do you think?

